今日は一番聞きたい言葉を聞かせてもらいました。

『デニー、速くなったね?』

今週の朝練は、頑張って準備してたんだけど、何故か目覚ましがなった時は身体がすごく重くて起きられなさそうだった。ヤバい、ヤバい、と思いながら着替えて、フェレットの薬を作って、車道へと漕ぎ出しました。

とりあえずお店に着けば何とかなると思いました。

着いたら、先週のチームメートでとても好きな人がいました。一緒に走ったおじいさんもいました。大好きな50代のチビチビマウンテンのお姉さんもいました。大好きな全日本マウンテンの元チャンピオンもいました(多分チャンピオンだった。とりあえずすごい人です)。みんなの笑顔をみたら、一緒に集まったら、よっし!これで頑張って走るしかない!と思いました。

もちろんある程度の恐怖で走っていました。今までもいつも一番弱くて遅い人だからあまり付いて行ける自信がないです。しかし、ユーキャンのチームをちゃんと私の面倒を見てくださり、上りの頂上で待ってくれたり、ペースのきつさも確認したりします。だれも一回でも私のことを面倒くさそうに行為や言葉をしたことがありません。とてもお世話になっております。

コースは家の前を通りかかります。最初の半分の距離はだるくて力の入らない脚で頑張った。一瞬「なぜこんなつらいことをわざわざするのか?」と思いました。それほどきつかったです。甲部トンネルでみんなが待っていました。お尻で着いたが、フランプスのおばあさんが様子を見に戻ってきて、以外と進んでいるとびっくりしたように言いました。それでチビ姉さんもやってきて、そこで最初の『速くなった』と言う言葉が聞こえました。

まさか!この私??このゴミ脚?速い???

にしか思えなかった。

そっから下りでした。下りは自信ないです。頑張るけど、ビビって緊張して、固まった身体が上手く曲がらないです。チビ姉さんが先に走りました。何となく彼女のラインが、私にでも走れるとわかっていました。怖くなっても彼女の姿をみたら自分ができると信じて、自分より速くなった気がしました。

途中で先頭をかわるように頼まれたら、よっし!地元の道を頑張ってみんなを引っ張って走ろう!となりました。30キロぶりの信号に着いたら、振り返ってみたら集団の半分が姿見えなかったです。

『デニー、先頭をかわったら、全く追いつかなかったの!』

と言う、今日の二回目の宝なせりふでした。

Camo-weasel drinking protein milk
Morning medicine is a part of training.

昨日もトライアル練でお世話になっているおっさんに「デニー、少し上手くなったね」とも言われました。

人生の他の目標のない私には、こんな言葉は本当に宝物にしている。頑張っても頑張っても多くの人が私のことをふざけてばかりいると思いますが、上手くなったら、強くなったら、速くなったとしたら、それを人に見せて認めてもらえるとなんとか人生に意味があるように感じます。

これからもっと頑張ります。これからもっと強くなります。死んでも良いから自分の限界を知ります!


ENGLISH

Today I finally heard those coveted words I had been waiting for.

Pinkie, have you gotten faster??

Indeed it appears I have.

This morning was rough. I spent the entire week working up to this morning’s practice like my coaches told me, but somehow when the alarm went off just before six, my body was heavy and my mind was foggy and I could barely get out of bed. I vaguely considered skipping practice, but even as I dreaded the ride ahead of me I pulled on my riding shorts and prepared the medicine for my weasel girl.

I thought to myself, it’s ok if I turn right back around, I at least need to get to the shop.

When I arrived, though, the guys who were so wonderful to me last week where there. The nice old man who worries too much about me was there and so was the fifty-something super cute tiny lady who rides mountain bikes. My favorite staff the Mountain Biker was there and so was the shop owner. Will all these wonderful humans I thought to myself, I have no choice. Weak as I may be, I have to ride.

So off we went. I was in no small way terrified of what I was in for. On a good day I still have trouble keeping up with the group and the fact that I have never been other than the weakest in the pack doesn’t do well for my confidence. The first half of the ride was torture. I did my best to stay on the leader’s wheel and I actually felt like I was performing better than in the past. On the flats and slight inclines I could hold on with relative ease, though the climbs had me trailing far behind the group.

The second part of the route passed through Kobu tunnel and through my neighborhood. I had never ridden it, but I knew the area. The climb was interminable and very steep. I was barely holding on to 7kph for most of it. When my team mates neared the top they turned around to check on me. I love when they do that. The leader was actually surprised. She thought I would be further behind. That’s when I heard it the first time.

Through the tunnel it was downhill all the way to the shop after that. Love it. I thought I’d get cocky and try and take the lead only to get passed almost instantaneously by Ms. Chibi. She was amazing! Just following her gave me the confidence I needed to descend smoothly and quickly. I used the brakes out of good manners, but I could feel my need for them was less than ever before. About halfway down she said she was tired and asked me to pull. It wasn’t until we got to the first stoplight in something like 30 kilometers that I turned around and saw that half the group was missing.

“Danni! After we switched leads I absolutely couldn’t catch up to you! How are you so fast?”

Me? Fast? On a descent? Golden.

Yesterday the Old Man of the Trials World who has helped me greatly in my practice also commented that I had gotten better on Cupcake. To a woman like me who has always worked alone and has no other purpose in her life, these words are treasures. When people always look at me like a joke, to be recognized for the work I’ve done and to have something to show for it makes me feel like there is meaning in my life.

From here I am only going to get stronger and faster. I will know the limit of my ability.

