ずーっと探していたものがこないだ見つかりました。ライバルです。

女子で、強くて、本気で、かわいくて、パーフェクトなライバルです。今のところはスキルもほぼ同じレベル。彼女は競技の経験が長い、10年長い、ですが、私の方が自転車の愛情を持っています。どっちが勝つんでしょう?

周りの人間は、みんなライバルの方に掛けています。少しずつわかってきましたが、誰も私のことを信じていません。もしかして楽しんでいる人、または笑っている人が勝てるわけないとかと思っているでしょう。無意識でね。痛いです。私の仲間のはずの人達が私のことを信じていません。

でも、大丈夫です。私は生まれてからずっと独りでやってきた人なんです。周りが信じていなくても私はやりたいことを自分一人でやります。しかも今はライバルができています。ライバルは私のことを信じなくても引っ張ってくれますから力となります。

そして、私たち2人が笑いながらチャンピオンになった時にみんなが私たちの笑顔を見て、「なるほど。笑っているやつでも勝てるのだ」と思います。

それで世界が変わります。

私は幸せと楽しみの代表として活動をしています。

よろしくお願いします!


English:

I finally found what I’ve been looking for all these years: a rival!

She’s a girl, strong, determined, adorable and absolutely perfect! At the moment our skills are well matched, too. She has much more experience than I do in competing — something around ten years more experience — but I have a pure love of the bicycle. Which of us do you think will win?

The people around me are all betting on my rival. I’m slowly coming to understand that in general, people don’t believe in me very much. They think of me like a child, always dicking around and never serious. It hurts. I think people are wired to believe that someone who is having fun and laughing can’t possibly be working hard at the same time.

But that’s ok. Since I was born I’ve been alone. Everything I’ve accomplished in my life I’ve done by myself with no one encouraging me but me*. Not only am I used to it and 100% confident that I can succeed anyway, now I have a rival in addition! My rival, even though she’s fighting against me, will pull me along by sheer nature of being a rival. Together we will become champions. More importantly, together we will take me further than I’ve ever gone before.

Then, the day she and I stand at the top of the podium laughing and celebrating the completion of our journey, the people around me will see us and they will realize, “Oh, I suppose it is possible to laugh your way to the top! I’ll be damned…”

And the world will change.

I am an ambassador for happy. This is my purpose.

Please join me for the ride!


*One exception is ballet, which my mother definitely pushed me to do when I hated it. However once I began to love it and want to make it my life, she switched gears and began discouraging me and telling me to study more instead. So since it never went anywhere, I don’t count it as help.

