This salad is easily 700 Kcalories.wpid-imag3194.jpg

 

This salad is DEFINITELY for people who are trying to lose weight.

It’s also TOTALLY a great idea for athletes struggling to find healthy sources of fuel for their workouts.

It’s also COMPLETELY AWESOME for candida sufferers.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1-2 avocados
  • 1-2 tomatoes
  • 1 clove raw garlic
  • 2 tbs grapeseed oil (or any other light flavored oil)
  • 1 tbs vinegar
  • some salt
  • some black pepper
  • a floompful of turmeric
  • lots of sesame seeds! (at least a tbs’s worth)
  • lots of sprouts! (any kind will do)

I discovered this salad last year when I was strugging to figure out how to get more raw garlic in my diet. Garlic is the nemesis of candida and I’ve used it to cure vaginal yeast infections successfully. However, the raw garlic burns on the way down so I mixed it with some oil to take the edge off. That was the dressing and the avocado. The other ingredients are just things I threw in later to make it tasty.

And tasty it is!

The sesame was the last ingredient to get added. I can’t eat any type of grain or it messes my stomach up and can cause a flare up in my candida all over my body (skin rashes, athlete’s foot, vaginal yeast, acne, diarhea — all of these I’ve linked through my diet to candida and simple sugars). Unfortunately if you take out pasta rice and bread from your diet, most people will find they are easily loosing as much as 600-1000 Kcalories per day. Using the rule of 4 I calculated that I need to consume at least 200 Kcal per hour of fuel on my rides which means any day that I’m on my bike easily puts my caloric needs at 3000 or more. That’s a tall order to fill without grains.

I heard that fat was the most efficient fuel source and so I wondered, what exactly is the definition of efficient? Sesame seeds pack 600 Kcal per 100 grams. As a cyclist, I’m a weight weenie, too. Rice (uncooked) comes in at just over 300 per 100 grams. Holy wow! Even for on the go fuel, sesame seeds kick the ass of rice or bread any day. Almonds, cashews and peanuts are all similar in their energy per gram value.

So I down the salad after rides like there’s no tomorrow. It’s an ecstacy of filling my belly, cleaning my digestive system, satisfying my taste buds (this is comfort food like lasagna wishes it was comfort food!) and giving my muscles the nutrients they need to perform.

Love it.

Oh, and I forgot. Why is a 700 Kcal salad good for people trying to lose weight? Because the reason you’re overweight is most likely due to you eating too much food without nutrients in it. You can’t go wrong with this salad.


 

 

Nutrition Facts and Analysis for Seeds, sesame seeds, whole, roasted and toasted.

Nutrition Facts and Analysis for Avocados, raw, California.

