So, recently I got the idea that it would be nice to publish some fiction. So I started poking around on some blogs and I found this article with “7 bestseller marketing strategies for fiction writers!” I immediately regretted my choice. If I write it will be because I want to tell a story about a better world than the one we’re in. It was a mistake to read this advice because the more I read the more I felt like being a creative author means that you have to lie and tease and trick your readers into giving you money. It just repels me.

And actually, it reminds me of a short story I read once about a man who loses his soul and suddenly explodes in popularity as an author. Book after book, he continues his climb up the success ladder until one day his wife says to him that she misses when he used to write with soul. I can’t remember how it ends, but I think he gets a chance to trade his success for his soul back at one point and decides it isn’t worth it. Hmm…

